Warmth!

6 Sep

The last few days have been much cooler. The leaves are starting to change color and fall to ground. Autumn is upon us. Sweater weather, my mother always calls it.

 I look forward to cooler weather. I have plenty of natural insulation and my skin is very pale, so hot weather is not my favorite. I prefer the fall weather. In fact, it’s my favorite season.

But for many folks in our part of Appalachia, cooler weather signals the beginning of tougher times. Many folks here struggle to pay their utility bills when the days become colder and colder.

In fact, I learned at a recent board meeting that the lion’s share of our winter budget goes to helping people with their utility bills. In 2010, the most recent year for which I have readily available figures as I write, Christian Help served over 2,700 families through direct aid, much of which involved heating bills. And, just in case you’re wondering, the money is paid directly to the providers.

Most of us are lucky enough to take warmth for granted. God bless those who donate to Christian Help for aiding those who are not.

Leave a comment